Welcome to BASIC

Accessories for my Pixel 8a

I didn’t want to buy accessories but today I realized I needed to. Even if the phone didn’t cost much, I still baby it like it’s a $2000 phone. Carrying two phones in a pocket or finding a safe spot in the car, I was always careful. The iPhone 15 has a case and screen protector so I don’t need to think about how careful I need to handle it. Now that I’m using the Pixel 8a more at home and at the office, I noticed myself handling it too carefully.

I bought a clear case (with MagSafe for my wallet) and screen protector for it this morning. Now I don’t need to be overly careful when I set it down on my desk or in the car. I also don’t need to leave it in my pants pocket making it uncomfortable to sit all day or while driving.

The other item was a USB-C headphone adapter for my headphones. I’ve been using the Pixel Buds Pro and Apple AirPods Pro but charging them is a pain at times. I leave them in my work bag so I don’t forget them when I go to the office. Now I can plug in any of my headphones into either phone. The last item I own with a lightning port are those AirPod Pros but I won’t be upgrading any time soon to the new ones. It’s nice having the old wired headphones as an option when the buds battery dies.

I was using two USB DACs but those consume power from the phone and never lasted long after a couple of hours of music and podcasts. The Apple brand USB-C headphone adapter works for Apple and Android, even the headphone controls work on my Pixel for volume and pause functions. For $10 it’s not a bad value.

Some accessories are worth it for me as long as they don’t break the bank and provide function.

#android #phones #tech