Welcome to BASIC

Carrying two phones

I’ve experienced several times switching platforms, back and forth from iOS and Android after leaving Blackberry. I miss that keyboard. I tried Windows Phone too, miss that as well.

It’s a strange thing in North America. Many people have iPhone’s and stick to iMessage. Other messaging apps are rare and unique. People are not aware that it’s just the old sms texting service underneath it all and make Android users feel awful when their photos and videos come out garbled. I’ve experienced the loneliness of being the only Android user. As soon as people found out I switched phones, they would stop messaging me. They wouldn’t download another app to talk to me.

iOS18 with RCS should change this and perhaps in a year, we won’t read any more articles about blue and green bubbles. It’s too late for me. I love having two phones, I experience the best apps on each phone and keep my connection with those on iOS. FaceTime and iMessage are used by family and friends, even though I don’t speak to them much these days, the old phone number is there on my iPhone.

The Pixel 8a is my most used phone these days. It’s been a great size for my hands and enjoy the open world of apps that can be installed without any store. In the time I’ve carried both, I’ve gotten comfortable bouncing back and forth between them. Reminds me of jumping from my Windows, Mac and Linux systems. I wish I had chosen this path sooner instead of trying to force one ecosystem over another.

#android #ios #phones