Welcome to BASIC

Do not disturb my life

I had a hard weekend coming to a realization about my own life. Getting older does that to some of us. In order to bring me some peace and quiet time to deal with this situation, I wanted to test out the Focus features on my iPhone. There are a few default focus features such as do not disturb, sleeping and driving. I tend to use the sleep focus mode at night but more for the tracking of sleep and never dived into the custom details. Here you can choose individuals and apps that are allowed to bypass the focus mode.

I've always used the silence switch on the iPhone but wearing the Apple Watch, notifications still came through. I've also turned off notifications per app but it can be cumbersome in iOS, no easy way to turn everything off and select only what you want on. This personal situation gave me an opportunity to test out the do not disturb focus mode. I've turned it on and allowed just what I need, a couple of people (for emergency purposes) and home security apps. I will fine tune it as the days go by and see if any adjustments are required.

I'm also grateful that I have my other phone, a Pixel 7 running GrapheneOS with a different setup than my iPhone, to help me get my Mastodon and RSS reading moments fulfilled. :) I've enjoyed having this phone to test open source apps and gives me that good feeling when I use Linux on my other laptop. I'll see how this setup changes anything for me and helps my personal situation.

#blog #personal