Welcome to BASIC

June Monthly summary

Here is my June 2024 summary.

PODCASTS

I've been listening to my original list of tech podcasts and not much else. I save these for the commute into the office & back home. I rarely listen at home because I have such a short podcast collection.

BOOKS

I'm still reading Legends & Lattes on my Kindle.

MOVIES

Your Name - This was a good anime movie about two young school kids that wake up in each others bodies. After the initial shock, they leave notes to each other every time it happens. Very cool story.

Ferrari - This movie was suggested by my wife and we watched it together. Set in 1957 Italy and on the verge of bancruptcy. We enjoyed the story as we didn't know much about him and his family.

Fool's Rush In - This is an old favorite of mine on my media server. We watched it in the theatre when it came out and liked these actors. It's a 90s movie about a Mexican woman marrying an upper class American guy. These stories were common back then and it's just another simple comedy movie. I like having these old movies playing in the background while I work at home.

Goonies - Another old favorite I have on my media server. I realized the dvd quality looks more like VHS quality, I really need to pick up a better version.

Madame Web - I don't know much about the comic or characters in this story. It was recently added to one of streaming services and I gave it a shot. I heard it was bad but I was still curious. It's true, it is a forgettable movie and I don't recommend it.

TV

The Six Million Dollar Man - This is an old series from the 70s. This is on my media server and enjoy watching a couple of episodes as a break from other series.

House of the Dragon - Finally it's back! We always have a few series that we watch together and this is one of them. So far this season has started very well.

Persumed Innocent - Another series we are watching together. We don't like the weekly episodes but it is what it is. The story seems to be another one we've seen before, husband cheats with a woman that is later murdered. Still waiting for the twist.

Dark Matter - This is another AppleTV+ series we are watching. It started very well but it ended in a wimper. It's unfortunate when writers just have no idea how to wrap up a great story. We expected more in the finale.

The Full-Time Wife Escapist - A story about a Japanese woman who can't find a job but realizes that she is great at being a housekeeper after she takes a job helping a single busy guy. It's sort of a drama comedy type of series with a few laughs.

MANGA

Attack On Titan - Started reading this for free on Prime on my Kindle.

Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai - Still reading this one.

Kowloon Generic Romance - Continuing to read this too.

ANIME

I seem to be behind on series, many are watching current popular anime of course. I've been enjoying some older series from the past decade because these have been recommended on the streaming services I currently have.

My Stepmom's Daughter Is My Ex - Another highschool theme story about two parents marrying each other and your ex becomes your step sibling! It was funny at times and nice as well once the shock disappeared between these two.

Attack on Titan - I started watching this series awhile back when I tried Crunchyroll for free. Now that I signed up again, I've been catching up.

The 100 Girlfriends Who Really, Really, Really, Really, REALLY Love You - This is a silly anime series about a magic spell that girls fall in love with this guy after crossing paths. The title is so long that I was curious what it was about. I never read up before watching any of these series because my old self would just never watch it. I used to be so picky but at my old age now, I am appreciating the distraction from the real world and having a laugh at the silliness.

A Sign of Affection - This was a cute series about an unlikely guy falling in love with a deaf woman. He learns to sign in order to grow the realtionship. It was a departure from the silly anime series.

And You Thought There Is Never a Girl Online? - This is a show about a highschool guy who plays an online game with a guild that he later finds out are all girls from his school. They befriend each other early in the series and of course love is in the air.

GAMES

I didn't play much this past month and honestly can't recall what I played. Unfortunately, every time I turned on any console, there were updates that turned me off from playing. Adult gaming is hard.

#entertainment #media #reading #tv