Welcome to BASIC

Miata

I’ve been driving since I was 16, I’ve owned several cars in my life, I’ve been fortunate. Many used cars when I was younger and a few new cars when my career took off. I’ve driven large and small vehicles but in the end I prefer small cars. They are easier to drive and park in the city. I do miss the safety feeling I get in a larger vehicle for my longer commutes to work but perhaps one day I will pick up a used second vehicle for the winter months.

I’ve owned an electric car and it was fine for commuting to work and home. The only advantage is not going to a gas station and saving some money charging at home. But not everyone can have an easy charging setup at home and easy commute. Once I got used to the routine, my range anxiety only came back when I had to plan road trip routes. In the end, I avoided the road trips with the car, it added to my anxiety which I did not need. There were other personal reasons I didn’t want to drive electric, it’s good to experience for yourself to see if it fits your lifestyle.

I missed driving a manual transmission and enjoyment of a gas vehicle. I have always loved Japanese cars and wanted to get a Miata. I was looking into used models but my wife was stuck on a new convertible hardtop model. We started looking into the MX-5 RF GT and fell in love. I’m glad I went with this model and not the soft top version.

I’ve gone through one winter with the car and the convertible hardtop has been very good. It feels like a coupe and love the design of it. It takes about 13 seconds to go up and down. Road noise is minimal too. Good size trunk for groceries and some luggage too.

Every new car I get I can’t imagine selling one day but I feel different about this car. I have a connection with the model that started in 1990 with the NA version. I had a co-worker who owned one and it was the most fun I had. Though the joy ride was short, the memory stayed with me all these years later. It’s hard to believe at my age that I finally fulfilled that dream.

My Miata

#car #miata