Welcome to BASIC

More social networking

The past few weeks I’ve been testing other social networks such as Bluesky, Nostr, Threads and X. Here are my thoughts.

Seriously? No one cares. Maybe a few of you would love an in depth review of the state of the network union but you three know everything about these networks.

One good thing from Twitter’s demise, yes it’s dead, sorry, are these new networks have their own flavours. After I used each one, I can sense from the community what it will be like from their posts. Unfortunately there are many posts bashing other networks. I still see the "humans being humans" attacking others for various reasons.

One network seems to hate anything linux and many are just beginners spreading false information. The other is all about bitcoin and trying to be different. The other is just trying to figure out engagement and followers because that is what they did on Instagram. A couple of the networks lag so much that the daily experience is ruined quickly for me. Getting followers and interesting conversations is harder compared to Mastodon too. Every single one has its positives and negatives.

In the end it’s a good thing there are different networks for each of us. For me, I still felt comfortable on Mastodon. I’ve been there since 2018 and have seen it grow. I don’t understand the negativity for Mastodon on these other networks, some of it is so horrible. I see some users moving to these networks and hoping for a better experience but then I don’t see them posting for days or weeks.

It really is the community you build. Treat others with kindness, post interesting articles, have some cool conversations and slowly you will meet like minded individuals. Eventually you will find a comfortable network and be happy it isn’t Twitter.

#internet #mastodon #networking #social