Welcome to BASIC

My Linux Workstation

I’ve been using a Thinkpad P51 running on the latest Fedora with Gnome. I’ve used many distros since the 90s but always land back on Fedora. It just works on most of my used and older hardware.

Recently I tried installing the KDE components to try the new version. I’ve never been a KDE user because I feel it is too busy. There are many various settings and it is overwhelming. I have always felt it wasn’t as polished as Gnome is today in its current version.

After I removed KDE from my laptop it hasn’t been the same. No surprise to us seasoned linux users! We break stuff and the only way is to do a nice clean install. It has been buggy and the KDE icons are still in my Gnome setup including the file manager. There are some random programs left over in the menu too. Removing files is never a good idea but now it gives me a reason to try a different distro on this laptop.

I’m not sure what it will be, Fedora detects and runs very well on this laptop. I get updated bios updates too. Maybe I’ll try one of the various Silverblue projects.

https://fedoraproject.org/atomic-desktops/silverblue/

#fedora #linux #thinkpad