Welcome to BASIC

Setting up an old Mac workstation

I’ve wanted to set up my old Mac Pro for awhile again. I was running Fedora on it but this time I wanted to install the old OSX SSD in order to use older Apple devices. These devices do not work with the current OSX or Mac’s due to older software or lack of ports.

I have the original iPod Firewire that I wanted to use again for local music. The 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 has all the older ports plus some new USB 3.0 ports that I added years ago via an internal card. The Superdrive is old but I do have one of the last made Apple external superdrives that I purchased for my 2011 Mac Mini. It still works with my 2020 M1 Mac Mini too.

I’m thinking of setting up my music library on this Mac Pro and sync it with the iPod. I have one of the last iPod Classic’s as well so I can have both in sync when the batteries die. These have the original batteries and never got upgraded. Will be nice to test out how long these last.

I also have an iPad 3 stuck on iOS 9 that should sync with this old OSX version. I did try syncing it with Books on the the old 2011 Mac Mini and it did work. I had several manga files on it for reading. I’m hoping to get it up and running soon then document it here.

#apple #tech