Welcome to BASIC

Weekly and monthly summaries

I enjoy reading weekly and monthly summaries from other blogs. These consist of podcasts, books, movies and anything else bloggers have experienced. I tend to find my new favourite's this way and I'm always excited when I hit gold! Here is my May 2024 summary.

PODCASTS

I've been listening to my original list of tech podcasts but trying a new one Sayer that I found on Joel's website. https://joelchrono.xyz/blog/may-2024-summary/

BOOKS

I'm not a heavy reader, so I haven't read much this past month. Still getting through this book, Legends & Lattes on my Kindle.

MOVIES

Godzilla Minus One - This movie was amazing. The writing, the story, the characters kept me hooked. Normally I watch for Godzilla as the characters in other similar movies and tv shows are not important to follow. I'm so happy that this movie was the complete opposite. I watched it in Japanese audio with English subtitles.

The Bricklayer - This movie was a simple action movie about a rogue CIA agent killing journalists and making it look like the CIA was behind it. I mean this movie could have been another Jason Statham movie but it had different actors. Same formula as other movies, but I stuck it through and enjoyed it.

Atlas - This movie surprised me. Jennifer Lopez movies used to be fine back in the 90s (or was it in the 2000s, it's all a blur now), these were cute movies to watch with the wife when we were younger. This movie was about an analyst that hates AI. I thought this movie should be right up my alley! I thought this movie would be so cringe that I would not finish it. We kept watching it though and finished it. I mean it is a forgettable movie and I think we were just in the right mood to watch it.

Dune Part Two - We watched the first one the day before and glad we did. The story continues which I was surprised not knowing anything about it. We truly enjoyed this movie as much as Part One. Looking forward to the Part Three.

TV

Good Morning Call - This is like a real life anime series. It came out awhile back, (I seem to be catching up recently on older series) but still enjoyable. I don't normally watch these types of shows but the characters and story is nice and cute. It passes my time late at nights or when I wake up at 3am and can't sleep.

Dark Matter - We started watching this show and didn't know there was a book about it. Very cool story and we are saving the rest of the episodes now. It's about yourself living in a parallel universe going through a portal to see what your other self is doing in their life. This every week new episode thing is not something we like anymore. We are used to binging shows now which helps with subscriptions too. (Paying monthly subscriptions for weekly shows is bad)

Jersey Shore : Family Vacation - Not sure why I continue to watch this but it's been like 15 years so why stop now. Always some drama to distract me from my own life dramas.

A Man In Full - This was a limited series with many known actors about a rich Southern American saving his company. It was silly and forgetful. It's sad that these actors waste their time on these roles.

Parish - This series was about a retired bad guy driver who was being pulled back into the life to help a friend. Simple story and very short series. It was ok to watch if there was nothing else but nothing exciting to put on your list.

BMF - Black Mafia Family - This is one my favorite new shows, I am enjoying everything 50 Cent and his G-Unit productions is working on. I think this show just amazes me how these guys became huge in the drug game across so many States in America.

MANGA

Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai - started reading this recently after watching the anime series and first movie.

Kowloon Generic Romance - I can't recall but someone suggested this one to read after watching one of this month's anime series, I think it was After The Rain. Don't remember. I'm slowly building my collection after losing my early collection on an old iPad. I used to read online but need to find it again to get the titles. I started reading manga but got lost in the anime!

ANIME

Solo Leveling - I really enjoyed the story about a guy who in real life is a hunter but levels up just like a game. He gets so strong that he becomes unrecognizable to others.

Demon Slayer - continuing this series, still in Season One. It gets repititive and perhaps too many episodes to complete a scene but I'll stick with it.

My Girlfriend Is Shobitch - This was silly and probably not to watch it with family! Very teenage high school coming of age stories with a lot of sexual joking. It reminded me of being a teenager and learning about flirting, sex and laughing about it.

Spy x Family (Season One) - I liked it at the start but my feelings changed later on about it. There were some episodes later that changed my mind, but will wait to start Season Two.

My Happy Marriage - Story was much like Cinderalla and the cruel sisters. I enjoyed it and it was easy to follow.

Uncle From Another World - This was hilarious, an uncle who was in a coma wakes up and misses his Sega console! His nephew helps him get climitized to the new world and there are funny moments. Very unique story.

Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai - I didn't know anything about this or the manga and really enjoyed the story about teenagers coming of age. I seem to like these type of series because I remember how it used to be for me at the time. Many adults forget how much of a confusing time it is to be a teenager.

Rascal Does Not Dream of Dreaming Girl - After enjoying the series, I was told there were movies. I watched the first one and truly enjoyed it. I know it's hard to find the next movies but one day I will watch them.

After The Rain - A story about a young girl having feelings for her older boss. This sure was an interesting turn of story for me but I enjoyed it. I've learned through my short experience with anime series, that there are so many stories out there and not just the highschool silliness series.

Wotakoi : Love Is Hard for Otaku - A story about young adult co-workers hiding their love for anime, manga and cosplay! Yes, please! This was funny and enjoyable to watch. I wish there were more episodes. I'm finding many older great series on Prime Video that Crunchyroll and Netflix do not have. This past month I've watched a few on this service.

GAMES

Ghost of Tsushima, a favorite of mine, still getting distracted by the open beautiful fields but I need to get some progress in this game.

I will be making another post in the future about the apps I use to watch and read on my devices.

#entertainment #media #reading #tv