Welcome to BASIC

Writing is hard

I was hoping that setting up reminders each weekend would help to write about my experiences of the past week. Write about new things I've learned or are interesting to talk about. Lately I've been trying to distract myself by watching TV. It's been a hard start to the year, some weeks are good and some not good.

A favorite TV show came back for a second season, called Tokyo Vice. This show is set in the 90's about an American journalist living in Tokyo writing about the Yakuza. The story and characters are so mesmerizing that I get lost in that world. The old cars for example, one of the main characters drives a Nissan Fairlady Z (Datsun 280ZX outside of Japan), reminds me of when these cars were so popular when I was a kid. Hagerty's has an article about the cars from the show here https://www.hagerty.com/media/entertainment/tokyo-vice-z-cars-skylines-limos-and-the-car-culture-of-1999/.

I believe I've found a distraction to help me with anxiety and stress, with older Japanese culture through tv, movies, manga and music that I am surprised to feel nostalgic for. It's like I've lived through those times in a different life. Perhaps it is part of the 90's nostalgic I feel as it was the last decade before tech truly took off in everyone's homes. My entire life I've tried many things to deal with anxiety and stress but not until last year I learned how much all of this would calm me and help me focus in my personal life and work life.

I'm hoping a focused mindset will help me write and read more and stop my mind to be easily distracted with too many retro projects and social media.

#blog #entertainment #japan #media #personal #tv